jump to navigation

Combining Knots – Monk’s Braid and Spiral January 25, 2009

Posted by Rock One in Ideas, Techniques.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Since I wrote the post on the Monk’s Braid knot, I’ve been playing with different ways to use it. Here’s a necklace I’ve been working on the last few days. I used lampwork glass beads, and incorporated the spiral knot. Here’s a couple pictures (and I know they’re badly lit…sorry):

 

sany0032sany0031

Simple enough. When I wanted to add the spiral knot, I just switched knots. I didn’t put any extra knots in between the monk’s braid and the spiral, although I’m sure it would look a little better if I had. I made sure I did exactly ten knots when using the spiral, just to make sure the spirals were all uniform. As the monk’s braid is more of a “solid” knot than the spiral, it almost seems like the necklace is a little weak where I switch knots. However, I’m sure that will go away after it is worn a few times and broken in. What do you think?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment